Black Friday celebration! Save 20% with code BLACKFRIDAY20 valid 11/24.

Save 20% with code BLACKFRIDAY20 valid 11/24.

We Are the Change We Seek: The Speeches of Barack Obama - Hardcover Book

We Are the Change We Seek: The Speeches of Barack Obama - Hardcover Book
SKU: 1635570913
$24.95

We Are the Change We Seek is a collection of Barack Obama's 27 greatest addresses: beginning with his 2002 speech opposing the Iraq War and closing with his emotional farewell address in Chicago in January 2017. As president, Obama's words had the power to move the country, and often the world, as few presidents before him. Whether acting as Commander in Chief or Consoler in Chief, Obama adopted a unique rhetorical style that could simultaneously speak to the national mood and change the course of public events. Obama's eloquence, both written and spoken, propelled him to national prominence and ultimately made it possible for the son of a Kenyan man and a white woman from Kansas to become the first black president of the United States.

These speeches span Obama's career--from his time in state government through to the end of his tenure as president--and the issues most important to our time: war, inequality, race relations, gun violence and human rights. The book opens with an essay placing Obama's oratorical contributions within the flow of American history by E.J. Dionne Jr., columnist and author of Why The Right Went Wrong, and Joy Reid, the host of AM Joy on MSNBC and author of Fracture.

20% OFF EVERYTHING! Use code BLACKFRIDAY20

OR

Description

Fans of The Reid Report and AM Joy will enjoy this book by Joy-Ann Reid.

Additional Info

  • Joy-Ann Reid
  • Bloomsbury USA; Revised edition
  • Hardcover
  • January 31, 2017
  • 368
  • English
  • 1.2" H x 216.9" L x 5.9" W

Shipping info

  • Return Policy: Unfortunately you can't return this product

  • Availability: Ships anywhere in the United States

  • Shipping Policy: Shipping policy